• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Whenever you search in PBworks, Dokkio Sidebar (from the makers of PBworks) will run the same search in your Drive, Dropbox, OneDrive, Gmail, and Slack. Now you can find what you're looking for wherever it lives. Try Dokkio Sidebar for free.


Sanctioning Bodies and Weight Divisions

Page history last edited by Dradis 13 years, 7 months ago

Sanctioning Organizations of the FCBA


In the early days of the FCBA, there existed a plethora of different sanctioning organizations, each competing for their slice of the market share.  Many different groups, such as Fox, Universal Studios, MTV, and Sports Illustrated, recognized the natural appeal and popularity of female celebrity boxing and sought to capitalize on it as much as possible.  The tradition of these separate lineages dates back to the golden age of Hollywood, when film and television studios would promote their own in-house champions and matches.  As one might expect, there was little consensus between these organizations due to the competitive nature of the process, as each tried to tout their own champion and marginalize the fighters of other groups.


As the FCBA coalesced into a more well-defined and structured organization around 2000, many of these different bodies and title lineages were discontinued.  Only three managed to survive to the present day with their official recognition intact - Maxim, Paramount, and Reebok.  Though all three organizations act independently of each other, it has become increasingly common in recent years for a champion of a weight division to hold all three titles simultaneously.  Generally, a breaking up of the title belts within a division has become the exception and not the rule.


There remain a few sanctioning bodies on the margins of FCBA, and while they draw their fair share of attention from time to time, they remain officially unrecognized by the governing body.  Examples of these include the Victoria's Secret Body Saddle, and the Jugs of Mass Destruction championship, and the Queen of the Ice Hotel title. 


Weight Divisions of the FCBA


In a similar respect to the nature of sanctioning bodies, the FCBA's weight divisions were also not well defined in its early days.  This too is a callback to the traditions of Hollywood studio fights of a bygone era - name recognition held a lopsided share of the motivation in matchmaking in those days, and fights were acceptable as long as two celebrities were generally of similar physical size.  The grand restructuring of the FCBA changed this, and since 2000 there have existed four well-defined weight divisions in the FCBA:


Weight Division Weight Limit
Flyweight 110 Lbs.
Bantamweight 120 Lbs.
Lightweight 130 Lbs.
Welterweight Above 130 Lbs.








Originally, Welterweight cut off at an upper limit of 140 lbs, and a fifth weight division, Middleweight, existed for all fighters above that cutoff.  However, Middleweight was discontinued in 2004 due to a lack of active competitors.  It was merged with Welterweight, which has held its present definition ever since.

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.